Newbie considering a charity auction...

Tell us about your own charity collection, or ask for advice from our charity experts.
sourrgrrapes
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

Newbie considering a charity auction...

Post by sourrgrrapes »

Hello everyone! :D

My name is Maria, and I'm a newbie to all of this autograph collecting, but I must say I adore it so far.
I just recently attended my first celebrity auction on Sunday evening, and it was a lot of fun with a wonderful outcome of 6 thousand dollars for the Autism Speaks charity (autismspeaks.org)!! I won an autographed book by Henry Winkler and an autographed bag by Julie Andrews.

I'd really like to host my own celebrity auction on Ebay for the only non-kill animal shelter in my area called Animal Friends. I've read all of the helpful posts in this section, and now I have some questions of my own:

-Will some celebrities choose not to donate items for certain charities?
-Would it be okay if I included a picture of my own so I can get an autograph, too.. or should I save that for a different time? Haha.
-How do I get a proof of authenticity?
-If a celebrity decides to send something other than a picture (i.e. an autographed tshirt or mug) will they make up for the extra postage?
-Has anyone used "The Celebrity Black Book" Edited by Jordan McAuley?
-Does emailing people if you don't have their mail address actually work?

Okay, that is all for now!

Thank you,
Maria
"I want to stand as close to the edge as I can without going over. Out on the edge you see all the kinds of things you can't see from the center."
-Kurt Vonnegut-
eug
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

Re: Newbie considering a charity auction...

Post by eug »

sourrgrrapes wrote:Hello everyone! :D

My name is Maria, and I'm a newbie to all of this autograph collecting, but I must say I adore it so far.