writing to models...

Need help? Tips? Tricks? This is the place to ask any questions related to autograph collecting. New collectors, post your questions here!
superdave
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

writing to models...

Post by superdave »

Hi, I have never written to models before and my question is....how can i convince models that i am a fan of them and their work without sounding like a complete pervert!?!

sorry if i sound kinda newbie.

thanks

Dave
nowandagain

Post by nowandagain »

Hi Dave :D

I would suggest maybe putting some of these points in your letter (however way you want):

- Introduce yourself
- Tell them where you've seen their work (e.g. magazine shoot for [insert magazine here])
- Why you've liked their work
- Ask for an autograph
- Thank them for their time
- Wish them all the best

What you probably shouldn't do is go into too much detail about any one particular thing in that they may think you're a stalker, or a crazed fan.

You want the letter to sound sincere, honest and sounding like it's from a true fan of their work.

Good luck!!!

nowandagain [rockon]
R.S.V.P
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

Post by R.S.V.P »

Hi Dave,

I totally agree with nowandagain. {up}

I've written to several male and female models in the past and happened to be successfull with them.

I'd recommand you contact models when they are still new to the industry since once they get as big as Campbell, Moss, Schenkenberg, etc. you won't get a reply anymore.

What might also be of interest for you is to contact the photographers who did the shooting for a certain model. Some really great photographers are Steven Meisel, Mario Testino, Bettina Rheims, David LaChapelle, Steven Klein, etc.

Best,
Stephan
"I'm tough, ambitious, and I know exactly what I want. If that makes me a B * * C H, okay." - Madonna

http://www.facebook.com/ViaVenueAutographs
superdave
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

Post by superdave »