Printing Photos?

Need help? Tips? Tricks? This is the place to ask any questions related to autograph collecting. New collectors, post your questions here!
SgtPencilPepperBand
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

Printing Photos?

Post by SgtPencilPepperBand »

This may sound dumb, but how do you print photos from altavista.com? Do I use regular paper or photo paper? Does it have to be printed on a special printer? Sorry, I'm kinda new to sending my own stuff to celebs, as I usually ask for a headshot or Playbill.
Waiting for: Wicked, Billy Elliot, Lady Gaga.
Playbills: Rock of Ages, Hair, West Side Story, Mamma Mia!, South Pacific, Promises, Promises, American Idiot, God of Carnage, Next To Normal
Favorite(s): Daniel Radcliffe, Jay Sean

My name's Cassandra. Sadly. http://peppersautographs.weebly.com/
johnnylightning
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

Re: Printing Photos?

Post by johnnylightning »

I dont know what altavista is but if you want to print your own pictures at home you will need a printer that says it prints photos and you will need to buy photo paper.
SilentEcho219
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

Post by SilentEcho219 »

Any color printer will work. There is a common misconception that a printer made for photos is needed or that certain photo paper must be used with certain printers. Honestly, they are all branding and marketing things.

I used to work for OfficeMax, in their print department and on the sales floor, and even the HP representatives would admit that there is really no difference, but to basically lie and say that because its HP branded paper it will work better with HP printers.

Just get some glossy photo paper and put it in your printer. You might want to print at the highest quality setting. I print from an HP OfficeJet printer (not made for photo printing) on Kodak photo paper on the Normal setting and the photos are exceptionally and the colors are very vibrant.