It is currently Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:48 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ringo Starr purchased from eBay... is it real?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 3:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 3:42 am
Posts: 27
Autographs received: 43
Autograph collector since: 2005
I got this off of eBay recently because, unfortunately, my letter did not get to Ringo before he stopped signing TTM. The guy I bought it from said he got bought it from Frank Bank (Lumpy on Leave it to Beaver).

http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/6229/ringol.jpg (If you click on it it gets giant and you can see the signature up close)

What do you think? It came it a really nice frame. I took it out of the frame and held it up close to the light, and it looks like it was actually signed and not a preprint.

The guy assured me it was real and I told him I was going to ask for a refund if I found out it was fake. I am going to get it checked at a collectibles/autograph store near my house, but I thought I'd get a few opinions beforehand.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ringo Starr purchased from eBay... is it real?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:54 pm 
Offline
Trainee Moderator - Admin's Team
Trainee Moderator - Admin's Team
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:51 pm
Posts: 310
Location: canton,michigan
Autographs received: 2500
Autograph collector since: 1999
It looks forged to me just because of the way the r is written.But it just might be an older signature thought so i could be wrong.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ringo Starr purchased from eBay... is it real?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 3:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 3:42 am
Posts: 27
Autographs received: 43
Autograph collector since: 2005
That's kind of what I was thinking at first too, but I was looking at other pictures of his autograph and I found this one: http://www.autographstore.com/fullsize_ ... 664225.JPG which I think looks pretty close to what I have.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Ringo Starr purchased from eBay... is it real?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 4:19 am 
Offline
Moderator - Admin's Team
Moderator - Admin's Team

Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 9:14 pm
Posts: 574
Autographs received: 500
Autograph collector since: 2003
It looks forged to me. It does not look authentic when compared to his current signature. Im pretty positive that signing only his first name with the line under his it is something that Ringo has began doing just within the last few years, which rules out the possibility of it being signed a while back when his signature looked slightly different

_________________
http://www.obamaautograph.wordpress.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
>