New Fanmail collector

Need help? Tips? Tricks? This is the place to ask any questions related to autograph collecting. New collectors, post your questions here!
spookycarlee
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

New Fanmail collector

Post by spookycarlee »

Hi there! I'm a Canadian fan mail collector [ca] . I've sent my first handful of letters out on July 3rd. (Wish me luck!!). I had a few questions and sorry if they sound silly, again, I'm new to this world. First off, I'm seeing a lot of autograph email success on here. Could someone explain to me what that is? Do you request an autograph via email? Secondly, as I'm out of America and most addresses are American, do I have to always drive over the border to get the stamps or is their easier ways to get to American Stamps? I would also love some tricks and tips if you have any or any celebrities you know that reply! Also, what envelope size do you normally use?
Mark_467
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

Re: New Fanmail collector

Post by Mark_467 »

Welcome to the hobby, firstly in relation to the stamps I also live outside of the US and the most convenient way is to buy "Forever Stamps" on Ebay. Secondly regarding getting autographs via email, you simply just mention that you are a fan of theirs and would appreciate it if they were to send an autograph to you and put your address at the bottom of the email.

For the emails, I have had recent success's from actress Judi Dench,TV presenter Graham Norton, and my most recent being your Prime Minister Justin Trudeau (via his website).
For letters, you may have seen that many people send a letter requesting an autograph to a theater or music venue near by where someone will be performing at, this is a good way of getting people that may not normally sign through their agency.

Best of luck with your letters you sent out!
Mark V